Media Room

Australian Greens elect new leader

Senator Christine Milne announced her resignation as Leader of the Australian Greens earlier today.

Senator Milne told colleagues that having decided not to contest the next federal election for another six year Senate term, she would step down as Leader immediately.

Having forged a career in public life spanning almost three decades, Senator Milne leaves a legacy as an experienced and respected environmental and community activist.

A former High School teacher, Christine Milne was first elected to the Tasmanian parliament in 1989, and became the first woman to lead a political party in Tasmania in 1993. She was elected to the Senate in 2004, elected Deputy Leader of the Australian Greens in 2008 and Leader in April 2012, following the retirement of Dr Bob Brown.

A ballot for the leadership took place this morning and Senator Richard Di Natale was elected unopposed as the new Greens leader.

Senator Di Natale was elected to the federal parliament in 2010 and is the Greens’ first Victorian Senator.  He has been the Australian Greens spokesperson on health, multiculturalism, youth, gambling and sport.  Prior to entering parliament, Senator Di Natale was a general practitioner and public health specialist.

Senators Larissa Waters (Qld) and Scott Ludlam (WA) were elected unopposed as the Australian Greens’ co-deputy leaders.

Sign up for our

Receive the latest news, updates and press releases from CapitalHill Advisory direct to your inbox.

Follow us on Twitter

CapitalHill Advisory
Level 3,
44 Sydney Avenue,
Barton ACT 2600
T: +61 2 6198 3210

Level 61
MLC Centre
19-29 Martin Place
Sydney NSW 2000
T: +61 2 9221 9255