Media Room

Prime Minister announces Department Secretary appointments

The Prime Minister has today announced the appointment of Secretaries to lead the Attorney-General’s Department and the Department of Health.

Chris Moraitis PSM has been appointed to head up the AG’s Department, replacing Roger Wilkins AO who retired last month.

Legally trained, Mr Moraitis is currently a Deputy Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and has served in a number of Australia’s diplomatic missions, including as High Commissioner to Papua New Guinea.  He takes up the appointment on 15 September.

Martin Bowles PSM has been appointed as the new Secretary of the Department of Health, replacing Professor Jane Halton PSM who was appointed to head up the Department of Finance in June.  Mr Bowles will commence in the role on 13 October.

Mr Bowles has been the Secretary of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection since early 2013.  Since joining the Australian Public Service in 2006, he has served in senior roles in the Departments of Defence and Climate Change and Energy Efficiency.  Previously, Mr Bowles worked at a senior level in the New South Wales public sector.

Sign up for our

Receive the latest news, updates and press releases from CapitalHill Advisory direct to your inbox.

Follow us on Twitter

CapitalHill Advisory
Level 3,
44 Sydney Avenue,
Barton ACT 2600
T: +61 2 6198 3210

Level 61
MLC Centre
19-29 Martin Place
Sydney NSW 2000
T: +61 2 9221 9255